Tokyo Olympics: Brazil faces tough football opponents

Tokyo Olympics: Brazil faces tough football opponents

Tokyo Olympics: Brazil faces tough football opponents

The coronavirus epidemic has delayed the Tokyo Olympics, Japan’s largest sports festival for a year, with thousands of athletes from around the world showcasing their talents in various sports and winning gold, silver and bronze medals. Along with making ornaments, we will also brighten the name of the country. The world’s most popular sport, football, is also an important event of the Olympic Games, but the teams that have performed best and achieved success on the global football horizon have not had much success in the Olympics. This time, the Brazilian team is defending its title by winning a gold medal in football for the first time at the Rio Olympics. Brazil beat Germany in the final on penalty kicks. This time too, Brazil is facing the challenge of rivals like Germany, Spain, Argentina, Japan, Ivory Coast in defending its title. The game of football was first introduced at the Olympic Games in 1900, with teams from three countries, the United Kingdom, Belgium and France, representing the club, and only two matches were played. Britain was declared the first Olympic champion, while France won silver and Belgium bronze.

The 1896 Athens Olympics and the 1932 Los Angeles Olympics in the United States did not feature football events. A total of 26 football events have been held at the Summer Games ahead of the Olympics in Tokyo, Japan, with Europe dominating. Football teams from European countries have won 17 gold medals, with Hungary and the United Kingdom winning three gold medals each. Countries in South America have won five, while countries in Africa and North and Central America have won gold medals twice.

The Olympics host men’s and women’s soccer events in which teams from FIFA member countries reach the Olympic Games by playing a qualifying round, similar to the FIFA World Cup. Under-23 players take part in these matches. This time, men’s team from Asia, including Japan, 4 from Europe, 4 from Africa, 3 from South America, 2 from North America, 2 from Oceania and 1 team have qualified for the Olympics.
For the Olympics, there is no age limit for athletes in the women’s team, while this time the age limit for athletes in the men’s team is 24 years, born after July 1, 1997, but three older athletes are allowed to join the team. ۔ Traditionally, the age limit for men’s team players has been set at 23 years, but this limit has been increased due to a one-year delay in hosting the Tokyo Games. FIFA has approved the use of VAR in the Olympics this time.

Britain won 1900 gold medals in football events for the first time at the Paris Olympics, then gold medals in 1908 and 1912. Since then, the British men’s soccer team has never reached the medal table in football. Hungary won three gold medals in 1952, 1964 and 1968. Hungary also won a silver medal in 1972 and a bronze medal in 1960. The South American country of Uruguay won the Football Gold Medal twice, in 1924 and 1928. The Soviet Union won gold medals in 1956 and 1988. Argentina has the status of a major powerhouse in world football, but it took a long time for the country to win a gold medal in the Olympic Games. Argentina won its first gold medal in 2004 and its second gold medal in 2008. The 2004 Olympic gold medalist Argentine team included many footballers who later captivated the world of football with their brilliant game. They include Carlos Tevez, Xavier Mushirano, Cesar Delgado, Roberto Eyal, Gabriel Heinz, Wilfredo Caballero. The 2008 winning team of Argentina included Lionel Messi, Angel Di Maria, Pablo Zabalita, Lutaro Acosta and Misrano.

In Olympic football, Nigeria, Cameroon, Mexico, Poland, Spain, France, Sweden, Czechoslovakia, West Germany, Yugoslavia, Belgium, Italy, Canada and defending champions Brazil have won one gold medal each. Brazil is considered to be the best football team in the world, but this super team did not win a gold medal in the Olympics until 2106. The Brazilian soccer team won its first gold medal at the 2016 Rio Olympics on home soil. The winning Brazilian team also included Neymar, Philippe Anderson, William Furtado, Gabriel Jose, Makos Marcoinhos and Rodrigo Saio, who are representing Brazil in the national team. The Brazilian team has won 3 silver medals and one bronze medal in football. In the semi-final against Honduras at the Rio Olympics, Brazil’s Neymar scored in the 14th second, which is the fastest goal in the history of the Olympics. The Danish football team has reached the Olympic final three times. The United States, Bulgaria, Germany, Switzerland, Austria and Paraguay have the honor of playing in the Olympic football final once.
Teams from 16 countries are taking part in the Tokyo Olympic Games football event, which is divided into four groups of four teams. Group A hosts Japan, South Africa, France and Mexico. Group B hosts New Zealand, South Korea, Honduras and Romania, Egypt, Spain, Argentina in Group C and defending champions Brazil, Germany, Ivory Coast and Saudi Arabia in Group D. Group matches in seven different cities in Japan will begin on July 22 and the group stage will end on July 25. The opening match will be played between Egypt and Spain. Eight matches of all groups will be played on this day. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the quarterfinals. The men’s quarter-finals will be played on July 31, the semi-finals on August 3, the final on August 7 and the third-place match on August 6.

In women’s football, 12 countries are placed in three groups of four. At the 2016 Rio Olympics, the German women’s team won a football gold medal. Sweden beat Germany 2-1 in the World Cup quarter-finals, ending their chances of winning the Tokyo Olympics. As a result of this defeat, the German women’s team failed to qualify for the Tokyo Olympics. Teams from 11 countries other than host Japan have qualified from six continental confederations. No group includes more than one team from each of FIFA’s conferences. Group E includes Japan, Canada, the United Kingdom and Chile, Group F includes China, Zambia, the Netherlands and Brazil. Group G includes Sweden, the United States, Australia and New Zealand. The women’s group matches will start on July 21.

Two of the top three teams from each of the three groups will advance to the quarterfinals, while the top two teams from the third group in each of the three groups will also qualify for the quarterfinals. The women’s quarterfinals will be played on July 30, the semi-finals on August 2 and the final on August 6, while the bronze medal match will be played on August 5.

Given the growing popularity of women in the sport of football, women’s football was included in the Atlanta Olympics for the first time, with the American women winning the gold medal by beating China by two goals to one in the final, and the Norwegian team finishing third. Was number one, beating Brazil 2-0. Eight countries qualified for this first women’s football event. From Asia to Japan, from South America to Brazil, from Europe, Germany, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, and from North and Central America, the host United States participated.

In women’s Olympic football, the American team dominates, winning four gold medals at the top, while Norway and Germany have won the Olympic title once. Brazil has been runners-up twice. In 2016, the German women defeated Sweden by two goals to one in the final. This time too, the American women’s team is considered a favorite, but the Brazilian women’s team will be a big challenge for it in the Tokyo Olympics.

Go to Home

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *